Capture: Script

-Bedroom-

Closed robe. Hair down. Sexy smile.

Capture.

Open robe. Hair down. No smile.

Capture.

Hair up. Closed robe. Genuine smile.

Capture.

Hair up. Sexy smile. No robe. 

Capture.

Delete. 
Delete. 
Delete.
Delete.

Hair up. Robe slightly open. Genuine smile.

Capture. 

Filter.
Enhance.
Highlight.
Crop.

Attach.

Deep breath.

Send.  

Little footsteps.

“Hey, buddy I’ll be right out, okay?”
“Okay, Mommy.”

Hair up. Robe closed. Slippers on. 

Big smile.



-Hallway-

“Hey, buddy!! Are you excited?”
“Yeah, I’m excited! Are you?”
“Mm hm.”

-Kitchen-

“How many cookies, Mommy?”
“I think two.”
“I think four.”
“Okay, four.”
“Not those. The glootum free.”
“We don’t have to do that, buddy.”
“He’ll get a tummy ache.”
“Well, we wouldn’t want that. Gluten free it is.”
“And the special milk.”
“Seriously?”
“He likes it.”
“Okay. The special milk.”

-Living room-

“Can I stay up with you?”
“Not how it works, buddy. You gotta go to sleep if you want him to come.”
“Can I sleep on the couch?”
“No, you need to sleep in your own bed.”
“But I’m already asleep.”
“Haha. No, you’re not.”
“I am. See?”

Genuine smile.

“Nice try, buddy.”

-Bedroom-

“Will he really come if I go to sleep?”
“He should.”
“Because I’ve been good all year?”
“Yeah, buddy. Because you’ve been very good.”
 “Will he like the cookies and milk I left?”
“Mm hm.”
“Are you excited, Mommy?”
“Yeah, buddy. I’m excited. Sleep tight, okay?”

-Doorway-

Capture.

Attach.

ARE YOU COMING?

Deep breath.

Send.

“Mommy?”
“Yeah, buddy.”
“I love you.”
“I love you, too.”


-Living room-


Soft music on. Wine poured. Candles lit. 

10pm.

11pm.

Midnight.

SORRY. NOT THIS TIME.

Music off. Candles snuffed.


-Kitchen-

Wine down the drain. 


-Bedroom-

Robe off. Footie pajamas on. Hair down.  

No smile. 


-Kitchen-

Tea kettle on. Fists clenched. Throat tight.

Deep breath.

Deep breath.

Deep breath. 


-Closet-

Presents secured.

Little footsteps.

“Back to bed, buddy!”

Little footsteps.

“I AM in bed!”

Genuine smile. 

“Goodnight, buddy!”
“Goodnight, Mommy!” 


-Living room-

Music on. Candles lit. Tea steeped. 

Stockings stuffed.
Tree trimmed.
Christmas made.

Capture.

Filter.
Enhance.
Highlight.
Crop.

Deep breath. 

Save.