Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
9

01 Lab Notes

The "Home Raker" Experiment
9

Greetings Stock Fiction readers, and welcome to the first edition of Lab Notes. What is Lab Notes? Not entirely sure. But I’ve set it up as though it will be a recurring segment, haven’t I? What with the 01 at the front and everything?

Think of it as a peek behind the creative curtain. A brief glimpse into the Stock Fiction laboratory, where a multitudinous madwoman with a sly smile who talks with her hands and says “so,” “like,” and “you know” excessively when nervous and happens to be the heart, soul, and imagination behind this newsletter, works and plays in perpetuity.

Lab Notes is a chance to put my real-life voice, human face, loquacious hands, and “unique” energy out in front of my work so you can get to know it (and me) a little better. It’s also a chance to flex my multimedia production muscles for your entertainment. And mine!

How frequently will I post Lab Notes?

Monthly? Bimonthly? Never again?

This segment, like much of what occurs on Stock Fiction, is an experiment. I’m stage diving right now. Whether I crowd surf to safety or eat dirt remains to be seen. 😉

Leave a comment

Today’s edition of Lab Notes would not be possible without the help of book marketing expert, author, friend, and podcaster

of , who recently interviewed me about my Watty win, my experience on the Wattpad platform, and my ongoing work on Stock Fiction.

You can listen to the full podcast on Spotify—

or watch it on my YouTube channel. Please like and subscribe! 🙏🏼

And here’s that rage-fueled rant that launched The Home Raker Experiment. It’s possibly the funniest thing I’ve published this year, setting the bar very high for my next piece of satire, which is long overdue.

Home Raker will continue to spawn, slowly and diabolically, behind my paywall. If you’re wondering if this particular piece of mad science is worth sixty bucks, the answer is …

probably not.

But a paid FOREVER subscription doesn’t just get you a pass to my future “best seller” in progress. You’ll also be able to read over fifty other paywalled stories, poems, and essays from my first year on Substack, as well as all future paywalled content from now until FOREVER! As a bonus, you’ll be heroically investing in the dreams and aspirations of one truly tenacious story maker. That comes with self-serve back pats and humble bragging rights which are arguably priceless.

ALL THAT SAID … if you can’t swing the $60 but you really, really, really want to read Home Raker and/or the rest of my archive, just hit reply to this email, or drop me a line at stockfiction@substack.com, and I’ll issue you a hall pass.

Word on the street— I’m wicked nice. 💜

Thank you for reading Stock Fiction. If you’re here for the first time, welcome! You arrived just in time for a brand new, untested, menu item and a very rare sales pitch. 🙃

Speaking of menus, thanks to all who engaged so enthusiastically with my recent year-end/year-beginning post.

I look forward to satisfying many of your story cravings in the weeks and months to come!

FOREVER subscribers, if your Home Raker senses are tingling, it’s because you have a new episode incoming this Saturday.

Everyone else, stay tuned for the third installment of my Open Mic freestyle poetry series next Thursday.

And I have something savory-sweet and smothered in gravy on deck for the end of the month. Providing all goes to plan.

I am cautiously optimistic. 🙂

And yours truly,

9 Comments
Stock Fiction
AV Club
Story/Media mashups. Short films, podcasts, voiceovers, and more.