Stock Fiction
Talk Fiction
04 | Mad Magic
55
0:00
-1:20:44

04 | Mad Magic

A freestyle forum on the science and sorcery of novel writing.
55
Content consideration: This episode marks the creator’s decision to slap an E (explicit) stamp on this podcast moving forward. Because talking candidly about writing and salty language go hand in hand, apparently. You’ve been advised.

Welcome back to Talk Fiction, the podcast dedicated to entertainment media’s most overlooked underdogs: Fiction writers.

In this episode, professional dream chaser,

, matches minds with expert goal getter, , in a dynamic duo log about the pleasures and perils of writing a huge-ass book. From pantsing (or plotting) to publication (or not) and everything in between.

This one’s an ear full. But who better to deliver “real talk” about the novel writing experience than two maniacs who have actually done it, and are crazy enough to want to do it again?

Please give it up for my guest on his recent Big Five publishing deal for his debut novel, Leverage. I had the unique opportunity to read the director’s cut of Amran’s book before almost everyone, and I am thrilled to see both book and author getting their due.

Let the record show, I snagged an intimate interview with this up-and-comer before he got super famous.

Let. The. Record. Show.

As promised in the show intro, here’s a rundown of our respective internet takeovers. Click freely and subscribe at will.

Amran’s Empire

  • Read about his book deal!

Amran Gowani's Field Research
How to bank a Big Five book deal
Hey Friends, Welcome back to Field Research, the humor and satire publication written and produced by me, soon-to-be-traditionally-published-yet-certain-to-remain-culturally-irrelevant-author, Amran G…
Read more
Amran Gowani's Field Research
A literary hodgepodge
Hey Friends, Welcome back to Field Research, the humor and satire publication written and produced by me, Amran Gowani. It’s been way too long since my last post, which is why I’m thrilled to share tod…
Read more

Meg’s Empire

  • Read my Lunar Award-winning short story:

  • Read the first chapters of my abandoned “thriller burlesque” novella. Rated E (explicit)🫦:

  • Read my Watty Award winning novel, See Dot Smile, for FREE!!!

  • Subscribe to my YouTube channel.

Stick around and Talk Fiction with us.

My guest and I will be standing by to field any questions you have about novel writing, publishing, or whatever else, so don’t be shy. We’d also love for you to contribute your own thoughts on the subjects we covered. Have a novel writing process hack to share? A celebration or frustration? A publishing insight? Let’s keep the discussion going!

Leave a comment

As your esteemed host, I know that podcasts are a big ask of your time and bandwidth. If you don’t have the space to listen to today’s installment but would still like to support my podcasting endeavors, kindly share this post with your people. 💜🙏🏼

Share

You can also give me a boost in the algorithm department by following, rating, or leaving a review for Talk Fiction on your favorite listening platform.1

Thank you for your support!!!

Music: Birds of the Meadow by Josh Ritter

1

If you can’t find my show on your favorite platform, let me know!

55 Comments
Stock Fiction
Talk Fiction
Stock Fiction creator Meg Oolders chats with some of her favorite people on Substack for your entertainment. This is what happens when creatives get together to talk about their greatest passion. And whatever the hell else they need to talk about.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Meg Oolders